Oklahoma SILC Seeks Public Comment on State Plan

12742012_582146945294884_5700521533682187682_n.jpgThe Oklahoma Statewide Independent Living Council (SILC) has their three-year state plan available for the public to review. It explains how SILC intends to assist, support, collaborate with, and to help expand independent living services in Oklahoma. They are asking for public comments to be submitted by June 20.

Send comments to Sidna Madden at smadden@oksilc.org or call 405-951-3581. If emailing please add 'SILC State Plan' in the subject line.

2017-2019 Oklahoma SILC State Plan

Office's Closed, Mon. May 30


Many years ago President Harry S. Truman said,

“Our debt to the heroic men and valiant women in the service of our country can never be repaid. They have earned our undying gratitude. America will never forget their sacrifices.”

No truer statement could be made on this Memorial Day.

All DRS offices will be closed Mon., May 30 in observance of Memorial Day.

Oklahoma School for the Blind students win free iPads for testing new iBraille app

Young boy with medal

MUSKOGEE, Okla. -- Three Oklahoma School for the Blind students earned free iPads for pilot testing the national Braille Institute’s ground-breaking, new iBraille Challenge application.

Pilot testing was funded by the US Department of Education.

Avery Carrington from Tulsa, Katelynn Zampella from Muskogee and and Elbin Carillo from Oklahoma City used iPads and refreshable braille displays to complete reading assessments that were adapted for the mobile app platform.

Oklahoma School for the Blind maintains 100% graduation rate

8 young people wear blue graduations caps and gowns

MUSKOGEE, Okla. – Oklahoma School for the Blind maintained a 100 percent graduation success rate for the sixth year with eight seniors graduating May 18.

The OSB 2016 class includes: Makayla Fetner from McAlester Triston Gibson from Broken Arrow, Aaron Hopson from Poteau, Logan McCoy from Tecumseh, Tesla Nakedhead from Stilwell, Jennifer Ratliff from Roland, Regan Spaulding from Wagoner and Destiny Tanyan from Wewoka.

Ratliff is the class valedictorian. McCoy is the salutatorian.